Wee: 65% turnout means members want new leadership
RM192mil rainy season aid given to rubber smallholders   

A fresh look for MCA

On Monday    05-11-2018 13:02:00

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong is now the new MCA president, with Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon as his deputy in a landslide victory.

The WeeMah team garnered more than half of the 636 electoral votes halfway through the counting process which went on till way past midnight earlier today.

Dr Wee, the Ayer Hitam MP, secured 447 electoral votes against his rival, Kluang MCA division chairman Gan Ping Sieu who received 182 votes in the party elections.

Dr Mah, who formed the WeeMah team with Dr Wee, secured 428 votes against Datuk Tee Siew Kiong who got 201 votes.

The 25 Central Committee members are: Lee Hong Tee, Low Ah Keong, Koh Nai Kwong, Chew Kok Woh, Pamela Yong, Kang Meng Fuat, Toh Chin Yaw, Ong Chong Swen, The Chai Aan, Leaw Kok Chan, Daniel Wa Wai How, Ng Chok Sin, Kok Chin Han, Tan Tuan Peng, Tan Ken Ten, Chua Thiong Gee,Wong Tat Chee, Lau Chin Kok, Chiew Kai Heng, Yap Siok Moy, Ooi Eyan Hian, Ng Fook Heng, Chin Hong Vui and Daniel Ling Sia Chin.

A day earlier the MCA Youth wing elections were won by Nicole Wong Siaw Ting with Tan Chee Hiong elected as her deputy,  while incumbent MCA Wanita chairman Datuk Heng Seai Kie returned unopposed.

Dr Wee arrived at the San Choon Hall of Wisma MCA at about 11pm last night with Dr Mah to see the results tabulation before addressing the press.

Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong (right) and Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon giving a victory sign as they arrive at Wisma MCA, Kuala Lumpur on Sunday, Nov 4, 2018. Dr Wee Wong the MCA presidency while Dr Mah is his new deputy.

“Dr Mah and I are thankful for the strong endorsement given by all the divisional delegates in terms of electoral and popular votes.

When asked whether he would appoint anyone from the opposing camp to any position in the central committee, Dr Wee said it was too early to say.

“We will need a few days to deliberate on things.

“I will call for the first central committee meeting as soon as possible to decide on more matters concerning the party’s future,” he added.

Calling the WeeMah team’s victory a strong boost in arms for the new party leadership line-up, Dr Wee also thanked his predecessor Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai who had led the party well.

He also said that Gan had called him at 10.35pm to congratulate him.

“I call on everyone who has contested to close ranks and come together to fight for and rebuild the party, regardless of winning or losing.

“We should respect the wishes of the delegates who have voted.

“Let us forget about this election after this and start brainstorming and be united to work for the party,” he added.

Dr Wee, 50, is the sole MP from MCA. The party won two state seats out of the 129 seats contested, and lost 38 out of the 39 parliamentary seats contested in the 14th General Election.

Meanwhile, Gan wrote on his Facebook page at 10.24pm last night that he had congratulated Dr Wee for winning the position.

“I have called Dr Wee and congratulated him as the new president. I hope he will lead all members in this challenging time and nurture new talents for the party.

“Hopefully we can perform better in the next general election,” he said.

The future of MCA will depend on Dr Wee, he added.

“This was the first time the party used a broader voting system. More members participated in the voting process. The election was more exciting.

“At the same time, members will have to respect the results under the democratic system,” he said.

“On behalf of my teammates, I would like to thank all members for their hospitality and encouragement over the past two months,” he added.

Gan had former president Tan Sri Dr Chua Soi Lek’s backing in the polls while incumbent president Liow had voiced his support for Dr Wee.

-The Star-

Related Post

Wee: 65% turnout means members want new leadership

‘Leader must nurture new talents’

Landslide win for Wee and team

Ong to make way for new leaders in MCA